Friday, June 23, 2017

@Cycling 40th edition Torres Vedras International Grand Prix - @Joaquim Agostinho Trophy will take place July 5th to July 9th

17 teams celebrating 40 years of the Trophy

The 40th edition of the Torres Vedras International Grand Prix - Joaquim Agostinho Trophy, which will take place between 5 and 9 July, will count on the participation of 17 teams.

The celebration of the 40 years of the Portuguese race for the longest time uninterruptedly entered in the international calendar will offer more cycling to the fans. On the one hand, it has regained the five day  format, one more than in recent editions. On the other hand, the day of day 8km trial stage  will be double, with one stage  in the morning and another in the afternoon.

The race starts with the traditional prologue, an 8-kilometer individual counter-clock at Turcifal, starting at 5:00 p.m. on 5 July. The next day the platoon will depart at 12:30 am at the Cooperativa de S. Mamede da Ventosa to travel 140 kilometers to Arruda dos Vinhos (16h00).

On the third day there is one of the most anticipated runs, 155 kilometers between Sobral de Monte Agraço (11h30) and the top of Montejunto (15h15). The trip contemplates three counts of mountain of third category and two of first. One of the most difficult is coinciding with the goal, but the rise to the arrival will be different this year. It will be done by Avenal, which implies that, within 5.5 kilometers of the end, there will be another first-class mountain count, corresponding to a climb of 2.1 kilometers with an average slope of 10.8 per cent.

After the harshness of Montejunto, the squad faces the double journey of the competition. On Saturday, July 8, the caravan departs from Atouguia da Baleia at 10:00 a.m., for a journey of 78 kilometers to Vimeiro (12.00), where the goal will be situated on the short but steep climb that leads to the Batalha do Vimeiro Museum. During the afternoon, between 16h and 18h45, the circuit of Torres Vedras runs, with five passes in the finish line.

The last stage promises to be decisive. It begins at 12:10 pm in S. Martinho do Porto and finishes after 162 kilometers, in the Carvoeira Wind Park (4:15 pm), a third category climb that has helped to decide the race in recent years.

The squad will be formed by the six Portuguese continental teams, Efapel, AL-Metalusa BlackJack, Louletano-Hospital de Loulé, RP-Boavista, Sporting-Tavira and W52-FC Porto, joined by the Jorbi / Team Jose Maria teams Nicolau, Liberty Seguros / Carglass, Miranda / Mortágua, Moreira Frozen / Fair / Bikes Andrade and Sicasal / Constantinos / Delta Cafés.
The foreign contingent is formed by the continental teams Armée de Terre (France), Burgos BH and Euskadi Basque Country Murias (Spain), Lokosphinx (Russia) and Team Sparenbanken Sor (Norway), as well as the Spanish club team Caja Rural-Seguros RGA.